Book of Trials – Sahih Bukhari

Translated By Aisha Bewley

I. What has come in the words of Allah Almighty, “Be fearful of trials which aill not afflict solely those among you who do wrong.” (8:25) and the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, warning about trials

6641. Ibn Abi Mulayka reported from Asma’ that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “I will be at my Basin waiting for those who come to me. Some people will be taken away from me and I will say, ‘My community!’ He will say, “You do not know. They reverted in apostasy.'”

Ibn Abi Mulayka said, “O Allah, we seek refuge with You from turning back on our heels and from being tempted.”

6642. Abu Wa’il related from ‘Abdullah that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “I will be your forerunner to the Basin. Some men from among you will be brought before me and when I want to hand them water, they will be wrested away from me. I say, ‘O Lord, my Companions!’ He will say, ‘You do not know what they innovated after you.'”

6643. Abu Hazim reported that he heard Sahl ibn Sa’d say that he heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, “I will be your forerunner to the Basin. Whoever comes to it will drink from it. Whoever drinks from it will never be thirsty again. Some people will come to me whom I will recognise and they will recognise me but then a barrier will be put up between me and them.”

Abu Hazim said, “An-Nu’man ibn Abi ‘Ayyash heard me when I was reporting this. He asked, ‘Is that how you heard it from Sahl?’ ‘Yes,’ I replied. He said, ‘I was present with Abu Sa’id al-Khudri and I heard him add to it, “They are from me.” It will be said, ‘You do not know what they changed after you.’ I will say, ‘Far away! Far away with those who changed after me!'”‘”

II. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “You will see things which you disapprove of after me.”

‘Abdullah ibn Zayd said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Remain steadfast until you meet me at the Basin.”

6644. Zayd ibn Wahb said, “I heard ‘Abdullah say, ‘The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said to me, ‘After me you will encounter self-seeking and things you disapprove of.’ They asked, ‘What do you command us to do, Messenger of Allah?’ He replied, ‘Give them their rights and ask Allah for your right.'”

6645. Abu Raja’ related from Ibn ‘Abbas that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “If someone dislikes what his ruler does, he should be patient. Anyone who separates himself from the ruler even a hand’s breadth will die the death of the Jahiliyya.”

6646. Abu Raja’ al-‘Utaridi said, “I heard from Ibn ‘Abbas that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “If someone sees something in his amir which he dislikes, he should be patient. Anyone who separates from the Community a hand’s breadth and dies will only die the death of the Jahiliyya.”

6647. Busr ibn Sa’id related that Junada ibn Abi Umayya said, We visited ‘Ubada ibn as-Samit while he was ill and said, ‘May Allah restore you. Tell a hadith by which Allah will benefit you which you heard from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace.’ He said, ‘The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, summoned us and we gave allegiance to him.’ He added, ‘Part of that which he stipulated for us is that we gave allegiance to hear and obey when we were busy and in matters which we disliked and in both difficulty and ease, evn if our rights were not given to us, and not to contend with people for power unless we saw open disbelief which we would have as evidence with Allah.'”

6648. Anas ibn Malik related from Usayd ibn Hudayr that a man came to the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, and said, “Messenger of Allah, you appointed so-and-so to an office and did not appoint me.” He said, “After me you will see self-seeking. Remain steadfast until you meet me.”

III. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “The destruction of my community will occur at the hands of some foolish young men.”

6649. ‘Amr ibn Sa’id said, “My grandfather told me, ‘I was sitting with Abu Hurayra in the mosque of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, in Madina while Marwan was with him. Abu Hurayra said, “I heard the truthful and trusted one say, ‘The destruction of my Community will occur at the hands of some young men of Quraysh.'” Marwan said, ‘May the curse of Allah be on them, those youths.’ Abu Hurayra said, “If I had wished, I could have said, ‘The Banu so-and-so and the Banu so-and-so, I would have done so.'”‘ I used to go with my grandfather to the Banu Marwan when they controlled Syria. When he saw that they were young men, he said to us, ‘Perhaps these are among them?’ We replied, ‘You know best.'”

IV. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “Woe to the Arabs on account of an evil which has drawn near.”

6650. Zaynab bint Umm Salama related from Umm Habiba that Zaynab ibn Jahsh said, “The Prophet woke up from sleep and his face was red. He was saying, ‘ There is no god but Allah. Woe to the Arabs from an evil which is drawing near! An opening has been made in the wall of Ya’juj and Ma’juj like this,” and Sufyan made a circle with his thumb and forefinger for ninety or a hundred. It was asked, “O Messenger of Allah, will we be destroyed when the righteous are among us?” He said, “Yes, if there is a lot of wickedness. ”

6651. ‘Urwa related that Usama ibn Zayd said, “The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, looked out from one of the fortresses of Madina and said, ‘Do you see what I see?’ ‘No,’ they replied. He said, ‘I see afflictions falling on your houses like drops of rain.'”

V. The appearance of trials

6652. Sa’id related from Abu Hurayra that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Time will pass more quickly, knowledge will decrease, miserliness will be cast into people’s hearts, seditions will appear and there will be a lot of harj.” They asked, “Messenger of Allah, what is that?” Killing,” he replied, “killing.”

Humayd related from Abu Hurayra that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said…

6653. Shaqiq said, “I was with ‘Abdullah and Abu Musa and they said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Before the Final Hour comes there will be days in which ignorance will descend and knowledge will be removed, and there will be a lot of harj.” (Harj is killing.)

6654. Shaqiq said, “While ‘Abdullah and Abu Musa were sitting conversing, Abu Musa said, ‘The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Before the Final Hour comes there will be days in which knowledge will be removed and ignorance will descend, and there will be a lot of harj.” (Harj is killing)

6655. Al-A’mash related that Abu Wa’il said, “I was sitting with ‘Abdullah and Abu Musa when Abu Musa said, “I heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say the like of it. Harj means killing in Abyssinian.

6656. Abu Wa’il related that ‘Abdullah, (and I think that it is marfu’) said, “There will be days of bloodshed before the Final Hour in which knowledge will disappear and ignorance will appear.” Abu Musa said that harj means “killing’ in Abyssinian.

Abu Wa’il related that al-Ash’ari asked ‘Abdullah, “Do you know the days about which the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, called the days of bloodshed?”

Ibn Mas’ud said, “I heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, “The Rising will catch the worst of people while they are alive.”

VI. No time will come but that that the time after it will be worse than it

6657. Sufyan related that az-Zubayr ibn ‘Adi said, “We went to Anas ibn Malik and complained to him about what we had experienced from al-Hajjaj. He said, ‘Be patient. No time will come but that that the time after it will be worse than it until you meet your Lord. I heard it from your Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace.”

6658. Ibn Shihab related from Hind bint al-Harith al-Firasiyya that Umm Salama, the wife of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “One night the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, woke up in alarm and said, ‘Glory be to Allah! How many treasures have been disclosed tonight and how many afflictions have been revealed! Who will wake up the women of the rooms (i.e. his wives for the tahajjud prayer)? Many a person who is dressed in this world will be naked in the Next!'”

VII. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “Whoever bears arms against us is not one of us.”

6659. Nafi’ related from ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Whoever bears arms against us is not one of us.”

6660. Burayd related from Abu Burda from Abu Musa that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Whoever bears arms against us is not one of us.”

6661. Hammam related that he heard that Abu Hurayra said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “None of you should point at his brother with a weapon. He does not know. Perhaps Shaytan will provoke his hand and he will fall into a pit of the Fire.”

6662. Sufyan said, “I said to ‘Amr, ‘Abu Muhammad, I heard Jabir ibn ‘Ubaydullah say, “A man went through the mosque with some arrows and the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said to him, ‘Hold their points.’ He said, ‘Yes.'”‘”

6663. ‘Amr ibn Dinar related from Jabir that a man passed through the mosque with some arrows whose points showed and he was commanded to hold the points so as not to scratch any Muslim.

6664. Abu Burda related from Abu Musa that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “When one of you passes through our mosque or in our market with arrows, he should hold their tips, (or hold their heads) so that he does not injure any of the Muslims with them.”

VIII. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “Do not revert to being unbelievers after me, striking the necks of one another.”

6665. Shaqiq related that ‘Abdullah said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Cursing a Muslim is deviance and killing him is disbelief.”

6666. Waqid ibn Muhammad related from his father that Ibn ‘Umar heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Do not revert to being unbelievers after me, striking the necks of one another.”

6667. It is related from Abu Bakra and from another man, who I consider better than ‘Abdur-Rahman ibn Abi Bakra from Abu Bakra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, addressed the people and said, “O people! What day is this?” They said, “Allah and His Messenger know best.” He said, “We thought that he would name it with another name.” He said, “Is it not the Day of Sacrifice?” We said, ‘Indeed, Messenger of Allah.” He said, “What land is this? Is it not the Town?” We said, “Yes, Messenger of Allah.” He said, “Your blood and your property are sacred to you, like the sacredness of this day in this month in this place until the day you meet your Lord. Have I not conveyed it?” We said, “Yes.” He said, “O Allah, testify! Let those who are present convey to those who are absent. The one to whom it is conveyed may retain it better.” It was like that, He said, “Do not revert to being unbelievers after me, striking the necks of one another.”

On the day when Ibn al-Hadrami was burned when Jariya ibn Qudama burned him, he said, “Look for Abu Bakra.” They said, “This is how Abu Bakra who sees you.” ‘Abdu’r-Rahman said, “My mother reported to me that Abu Bakra said, “If they had some to me, I would not have struck with a stick.”

6668. ‘Ikrima related from Ibn ‘Abbas that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Do not revert to being unbelievers after me, striking the necks of one another.”

6669. Abu Zur’a Ibn ‘Amr ibn Jarir related that Jarir said, “In the Farewell Hajj, the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said to me, ‘Let the people be quiet.’ Then he said, ‘Do not revert to being unbelievers after me, striking the necks of one another.'”

IX. During civil strife, the one who sits is better than the one who stands

6670. Abu Salama ibn ‘Abdu’r-Rahman related from Abu HurayraŠ

Sa’id ibn al-Musayyab related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, will say, “There will be seditions during which the one sits is better than the one who stands. The one who stands in them will be better than the one who walks. The one who walks will better than the one who runs. Whoever finds a way to escape them should seek it out. Whoever finds a refuge or place of protection should seek refuge in it.”

6671. Abu Salama ibn ‘Abdu’r-Rahman related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “There will be seditions in which the one sits is better than the one who stands. The one who stands in them will be better than the one who walks. The one who walks will better than the one who runs. Whoever finds a way to escape them should seek it out. Whoever finds a refuge or place of protection should seek refuge in it.”

X. When two Muslims meet with their swords

6672. Hammad related from a man he did not name that al-Hasan said, “I went out with my weapons during the nights of the civil war and Abu Bakra met me. He asked, ‘Where are you going?’ I replied, ‘I want to help the cousin of the Messenger of Allah [‘Ali].’ He said, ‘The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “When two Muslims meet with their swords, both of them are among the people of the Fire.” It was asked, “This is the case for the one who killed, but what about the one who was killed?’ The Prophet said, “He wanted to kill his companion.”‘”

Hammad ibn Zayd said, “I mentioned this hadith to Ayyub and Yunus ibn ‘Ubayd and I wanted for them to relate it to me. They said, “Al-Hasan related this hadith from al-Ahnaf ibn Qays from Abu Bakr.”

Hammad related this.

Hammad ibn Zayd related it from Ayyub, Yunus, Hisham, Mu’alla ibn Ziyad from al-Hasan from al-Ahnaf from Abu Bakr from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace.

Ma’mar related it from Ayyub.

Bakkar ibn ‘Abdu’l-‘Aziz related it from his father from Abu Bakra.

Rib’i ibn Hirash related it from Abu Bakra from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace. Sufyan does not have it marfu’ from Mansur.

XI. What is to be done when there is no community

6673. Abu Idris al-Khawlani was heard to say that he heard Hudhayfa ibn al-Yaman say, “People used to ask the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, about good and I used to ask him about evil, fearing that it would overtake me. I said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, we were in Jahiliyya and in evil, and then Allah brought us this good. Is there any evil after this good?’ He answered, ‘Yes.’ I asked, ‘Is there any good after that evil?’ ‘Yes,’ he answered, ‘but it will be mixed.’ I said, ‘What is it mixed with? He replied, ‘Some people will guide by other than my guidance. You will see what they do and dislike it.’ I said, ‘Is there any evil after that good?’ He said, ‘Yes, those who call at the gates of Jahannam. If anyone responds to them, they will throw him into it.’ I said, ‘Messenger of Allah, describe them for me.’ He said, ‘They are from our race and they speak our language.’ I said, ‘What do you command me to do if that reaches me?’ He said, ‘Cling to the community of the Muslims and their leader.’ I asked, ‘If there they have neither community nor Imam?’ He replied, ‘Then keep apart from all those sects, even if you bite the root of a tree until death takes you while you are like that.'”

leader

XII. Someone who disliked to increase the number of the people who inflict afflictions and injustice

6674. It is related that Abu’l-Aswad said, “Conscription for an expedition was forced on the people of Madina [by Ibn az-Zubayr] and I was included in it. I met ‘Ikrima and told him. He forbade me to do that in the strongest possible terms. Then he said, ‘Ibn ‘Abbas reported to me that some of the Muslims were with the idolworshippers to increase the size of the idolworshippers against the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace. An arrow would be shot and hit one of them and kill him, or he would be struck a blow and killed. Then Allah revealed, “The angels ask those they take while wronging themselves…”‘ (4:97)”

XIII. When someone remains among the dregs of people

6675. Zayd ibn Wahb related that Hudhayfa said, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, related two hadiths to us. I have seen one of them come about and am still waiting for the other. [He said, ‘Trustworthiness descended into the very hearts of men. Then they knew it from the Qur’an and then they knew it from the Sunna.'” Then he related to us regarding its removal and said, ‘A man will go to sleep and trustworthiness will be taken from his heart and its trace will remain like a small mark. Then he will go to sleep and trustworthiness will be taken from his heart and its trace will remain like a weal, as happens when an ember rolls onto his foot and it blisters up and you see it raised up with nothing in it. And people will continue to trade but practically no one will fulfil his trust, to such a point that it will be said, “There is a trustworthy man among the Banu so-and-so!” and until it will be said of a man, “How tough he is! How elegant! How intelligent!” when he does not have a mustard-grain of belief in his heart.’ There was a time when I did not care who I did business with. If he was a Muslim, his deen was sufficient assurance for me, and if he was a Christian or a Jew, his guardian was sufficient assurance for me. Today I only do business with so-and-so and so-and-so.”

XIV. Staying with the desert Arabs during civil unrest

6676. It is related from Salama ibn al-Akwa’ that he visited al-Hajjaj and said, “Ibn al-Akwa’! You have turned on your heels, living in the desert!” “No,” he answered, “but the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, gave me permission to live with the Bedouins.”

Yazid ibn Abi ‘Ubayd said, “When ‘Uthman ibn ‘Affan was killed, Salama ibn al-Akwa’ went out to ar-Rabadha and married a woman there who bore him children. He remained there until some nights before he died when he went to Madina.”

6677. ‘Abdullah ibn Abu Sa’sa’a related from his father from Abu Sa’id al-Khudri that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The time is approaching when the best property of a Muslim will be some sheep which he follows in the tops of the mountains and where the rain falls, fleeing with his deen from trials.”

XV. Seeking refuge from trials

6678. Qatada related that Anas said, “They questioned the Prophet , may Allah bless him and grant him peace, until they pressed him with questions. The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, went up the minbar one day and said, ‘You will not ask me about anything but that I will make it clear to you.’ I began to look to the right and left and every man had his head in his garment and was weeping. Then a man stood up who had been attributed to other than his father when quarreling. He said, ‘Messenger of Allah, who is my father?’ He answered, ‘Your father is Hudhafa.’ Then ‘Umar got up and said, ‘We are pleased with Allah as a Lord, with Islam as a deen and with Muhammad as a Prophet. We seek refuge with Allah from the evil of trials.’ The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘I have never seen such good and such evil as on this day. The Garden and the Fire were displayed before me just now against this wall.'”

He said, “Qatada used to mention this hadith at this ayat, ‘O you who believe! Do not ask about matters which, if they were made known to you, would make things difficult for you.’” (5:101)

Qatada related that Anas reported to him this from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace. He said, “Every man had his head wrapped in his garment and was weeping.” He said, “Seeking refuge with Allah from the evil of trials,” or he said, “I seek refuge with Allah from the evil of trials.”

Sa’id and Mu’tamir related from his father from Qatada that Anas reported this to them from the Prophet , may Allah bless him and grant him peace. He said, “Seeking refuge with Allah from the evil of trials.”

XVI. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, “Trials will appear from the east”

6679. Salim related from his father that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, stood beside the minbar and said, “Sedition is there. Sedition is there from where the horn of shaytan rises,” or he said, “the horn of the sun.”

6680. Nafi’ related from Ibn ‘Umar heard the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say when he was facing the east, “Trials are there, from where the horn of shaytan rises.”

6681. Nafi’ related that Ibn ‘Umar said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, mentioned, “O Allah, bless us in our Syria. Bless us in our Yemen.” They said, “Messenger of Allah, and in our Najd?” He said, ” O Allah, bless us in our Syria. Bless us in our Yemen.” They said, “Messenger of Allah, and in our Najd?” I think that he said the third tine, “There are earthquakes and afflictions there, and horn of Shaytan rises there.”

6682. Wabara ibn ‘Abdu’r-Rahman related that Sa’id ibn Jubayr said, “‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar came out to us and we hoped that he would relate a good hadith to us.” He said, “A man got to him first and said, “Abu ‘Abdu’r-Rahman, relate to us about fighting during civil unrest as Allah says, ‘Fight them until there is no more fitna’ (2:193) He said, ‘Do you know what fitna is, may your mother be bereft? Muhammad, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, used to fight the idolaters and joining their religion was a trial. It is not like your fighting for the sake of dominion.'”

XVII. Trials which come like the waves of the sea

Ibn ‘Uyayna related from Khalaf ibn Hawshab, “They used to like to recite these verses of Imru’l-Qays during times of trial:

War at first is a captivating young girl,

quick to catch the eye every rash ignorant person

Until when it is kindled and its wood is burning,

it becomes a husbandless old woman

With grey hairs whose appearance is unattractive,

whom one does not want to smell or kiss.

6683. Shaqiq related to us: “While we were sitting with ‘Umar, he asked, ‘Which of you remembers what the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said about trial and tribulation?’ I heard Hudhayfa say, ‘The trial (fitna) of a man in respect of his wife, wealth, children and neighbours is expiated by prayer, fasting, sadaqa, and by commanding what is right and forbidding what is wrong.’ He said, ‘That is not what I am asking about, but rather that which spreads like the waves of the sea.’ He said, ‘Do not concern yourself with it, Amir al-Mu’minin! There is a closed door between you and it.’ ‘Umar asked, ‘Will it be broken down or opened?’ Hudhayfa replied, ‘No, it will be broken down.’ He said, ‘Then it will never be closed again?’ I said, ‘Yes.’ We asked Hudhayfa, ‘Did ‘Umar know what the door was?’ ‘Yes,’ he replied, ‘as it is known that there will be night before tomorrow. I related to him a hadith without errors.’ We were afraid to ask him who the door was and told Masruq to ask him. He said, ‘Who is the door?’ and he answered, ”Umar.'”

6684. Sa’id ibn al-Musayyab related that Abu Musa al-Ash’ari said, “The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, went to one of the gardens of Madina for some need and I followed after him. When he entered the Garden, I sat at its gate and said, ‘Today I will be the gatekeeper of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, although he has not commanded me.’ The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, went and satisfied his need and then sat on the rim of the well, uncovered his legs and dangled them in the well. Abu Bakr came and asked for permission to enter and I said, ‘Wait until I ask for permission for you.’ He waited while I went to the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, and said, ‘Prophet of Allah, Abu Bakr asks for your permission to enter.’ He said, ‘Give him permission and give him the good news of the Garden.’ He entered and went to the right-hand side of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, uncovered his legs and dangled them in the well. Then ‘Umar came and I said, ‘Wait until I ask for permission for you.’ The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘Give him permission and given him the good news of the Garden.’ He went to the left side of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, uncovered his legs and dangled them in the well and so the rim was full and there was no place for anyone else to sit. Then ‘Uthman came and I said, ‘Wait until I ask for permission for you.’ The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘Give him permission and give him the good news of the Garden as well as an affliction which will befall him.’ He entered and there was no place for him to sit with them and so went opposite them on the rim of the well, uncovered his legs and dangled them in the well. I began to wish that a brother of mine would come and I prayed to Allah that he would come.”

Sa’id ibn al-Musayyab said, “I interpreted it as their graves. They were together here while ‘Uthman is separate.”

6685. It is said that Sulayman heard Abu Wa’il say, “Usama was asked, “Will you go to so-and-so [‘Uthman] and speak to him [about what is happening]?” He replied, “I spoke to him without opening a door which I would be the first to open. I would not be someone who says to a man who rules over two men, ‘You are better,’ after I heard the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, ‘A man will be brought and thrown into the Fire and will go around in it like the donkey of a grinding mill and the people of the Fire will gather around him and say, “So-and-so! Did you not command what is correct and forbid the wrong?” He will answer, “I used to command what is correct, but not do it, and forbid the wrong and do it.”‘”

6686. Al-Hasan reported that Abu Bakra said. “Allah helped me with some words at the Battle of the Camel. When the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, heard that the people of Persia had appointed the daughter of Chosroes ruler, he said, ‘A people will not be successful who put a woman in charge of them.'”

6687. Abu Maryam ‘Abdullah ibn Ziyad al-Asadi said, “When Talha, az-Zubayr and ‘A’isha travelled to Basra, ‘Ali sent ‘Ammar ibn Yasir and Hasan ibn ‘Ali. They came to us at Kufa and went up the minbar. Al-Hasan ibn ‘Ali was on top of the minbar while ‘Ammar stood below al-Hasan. We gathered around him and I heard ‘Ammar say, ”A’isha has gone to Basra. By Allah, she, is the wife of your Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, but Allah, blessed and exalted is He, has tested you so that he knows whether you will obey Him* or her.'”

[* There is disagreement about whether this pronoun refers to Allah or to ‘Ali.]

6688. Al-Hakam related that Abu Wa’il said, ‘Ammar stood on the minbar of Kufa and mentioned ‘A’isha and the fact that she had travelled [to Basra] and said, ‘She is the wife of your Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, in this world and the Next, but she is part of your test.'”

6689. ‘Amr said that he heard Abu Wa’il say, “Abu Musa and Abu Mas’ud visited ‘Ammar when ‘Ali sent him to the people of Kufa to encourage them [to go to Basra]. They said, ‘Since you became a Muslim, we have not seen you doing something which we dislike more than your hastening in this matter.’ ‘Ammar said, ‘Since you both became Muslim, I have not seen you doing anything I dislike more than your slowness in this business.’ He (Abu Mas’ud) clothed them each in a suit of two robes and then they went to the mosque.”

6690. Shaqiq ibn Salama said, “I was sitting with Abu Mas’ud, Abu Musa and ‘Ammar when Abu Mas’ud said, ‘There is none of your companions but that if I had so wished, I could say things about him, except for you. Since you kept the company of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, I have not seen you do anything which I criticise more in you than your haste in this matter.’ ‘Ammar said, ‘Abu Mas’ud, I have not seen anything done by you nor by this companion of you since you kept the company of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, which I criticise more than your slowness in this matter.’ Abu Mas’ud, who was a rich man, then said, ‘Boy! Bring two robes.’ He gave one of them to Abu Musa and the other to ‘Ammar. He said, ‘Go to Jumu’a in them.'”

XVIII. When Allah sends down a punishment on a people

6691. Hamza ibn ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar related that he heard Ibn ‘Umar say, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘When Allah sends down a punishment on a people, the punishment will strike all those who are among them, and then they will be resurrected commensurate with their actions.'”

XIX. The words of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, about al-Hasan ibn ‘Ali, “This son of mine is a chief and it may be that Allah will bring about peace between two parties of Muslims through him.”

6692. Sufyan said, “Abu Musa Isra’il narrated to us. I met him in Kufa. He went to Ibn Shubruma* and said, ‘Take me to ‘Isa** so that I can adominish him.’ It was as if Ibn Shubruma feared for him and so he did not do it.” He said, “Al-Hasan narrated to us and said, ‘When al-Hasan ibn ‘Ali moved against Mu’awiya with squadrons, ‘Amr ibn al-‘As said to Mu’awiya, ‘I see squadrons which will not retreat until the other force retreats.’ Mu’awiya said, ‘Who will look after the children of the Muslims?’ He said, ‘I will.’ Then ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Amir and ‘Abdu’r-Rahman ibn Samura said, ‘We should meet with him and speak to him about peace.'” Al-Hasan said, “I heard Abu Bakra say, ‘While the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, was addressing us, al-Hasan came and the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘This son of mine is a chief and it may be that Allah will bring about peace between two parties of Muslims by him.'”

[* The Qadi of Kufa under al-Mansur.

** ‘Isa ibn Musa, the governor of Kufa]

6693. Harmala, the client of Usama said, “Usama sent me to ‘Ali and said, ‘He will immediately ask you, “What has held back your companion?” Tell him, “If you had been in the mouth of a lion, I would want to be with you, but I do not think this matter [fighting the Muslims] proper.”‘ He [‘Ali] did not give me anything so I went to Hasan, Husayn and Ibn Ja’far and they loaded up my camel.”

XX. When someone says something in the presence of some people and then goes out and says something different

6694. Ayyub related that Nafi’ said, “When the people of Madina deposed Yazid ibn Mu’awiya, Ibn ‘Umar gathered his servants and children and said, ‘I heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, “A banner will be set up for every traitor on the Day of Rising.” We gave allegiance to this man in accordance with the allegiance to Allah and His Messenger, and I know of no treachery worse than giving allegiance to a man in accordance with the allegiance to Allah and His Messenger and then setting out to fight him. If I learn that any of you have deposed him and given allegiance [to another] in this matter, it will be a separation between me and him.”

6695. ‘Awf related that Abu’l-Minhal said, “When [‘Abdullah] Ibn Ziyad and Marwan [ibn al-Hakam] were in Syria and Ibn az-Zubayr seized power in Makka and the qurra’ seized power in Basra, I went with my father to Abu Bazra al-Aslami until we went to him in his house while he was sitting in the shade of a room built of cane. We sat with him and my father started to speak to him and said, ‘Abu Bazra! Do you not see what the people have fallen into?’ The first thing which I heard him say was, ‘I seek a reward with Allah. I am angry with the tribes of Quraysh. You, company of Arabs, well know that you were in a state of abasement, want and misguidance, and then Allah delivered you by Islam and by Muhammad, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, until He brought you to what you see [of might, prosperity and guidance]. It is this world which has caused corruption between you. The one who is in Syria [i.e. Marwan], by Allah, is only fighting for this world. Those who are among you, by Allah, are only fighting for this world. The one who is in Makka [i.e. Ibn az-Zubayr], by Allah, is only fighting for this world.'”

6696. Abu Wa’il related that Hudhayfa ibn al-Yaman said, “The hypocrites today are worse than those at the time of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, because at that time they used to conceal [their unbelief] but today they show that openly.”

6697. Abu’sh-Sha’tha’ related that Hudhayfa said, “There was hypocrisy at the time of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace. Today it is unbelief after faith.”

XXI. The Final Hour will not come until those who are buried in graves are envied

6698. Al-A’raj related from Abu Hurayra that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Final Hour will not come until a man passes by the grave of a man and says, ‘Would that I were where he is!'”

XXII. Times will change until idols are worshipped

6699. Sa’id ibn al-Musayyab related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Final Hour will not come until the buttocks of the women of Daws move around Dhu’l-Khalasa.”

Dhu’l-Khalasa was the idol of Daws which they worshipped in the Jahiliyya.

6700. Abu’l-Ghayth related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Final Hour will not come until a man emerges from Qahtan, driving the people with his staff.”

XXIII. The emergence of the fire

Anas said that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The first of the Signs of the Final Hour will be a fire which will gather the people from the east to the west.”

6701. Sa’id ibn al-Musayyab related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Final Hour will not come until a fire emerges from the land of the Hijaz and illuminates the necks of the camels in Busra [in Syria].”

6702. Hafs ibn ‘Asim related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Euphrates is about to disclose a treasure of gold. Whoever is present then should not take any of it.”

Al-A’raj related the like of it from Abu Hurayra from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, although he said, “a mountain of gold.”

Chapter.

6703. Ma’bad related that he heard Haritha ibn Wahb say, “I heard the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, ‘Give sadaqa. A time will come for people when a man will go with his sadaqa but not find anyone to accept it.'”

Musaddad said that Haritha was the brother of ‘Ubaydullah ibn ‘Umar by the same mother.

6704. ‘Abdu’r-Rahman related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Final Hour will not come until two large groups fight one another in which many will be killed while they call to the same thing; until the lying Dajjals appear, about thirty of them, all of whom claim to be the Messenger of Allah; until knowledge is taken away, earthquakes are frequent, time passes quickly, violent conflict appears and harj, meaning slaughter, becomes commonplace; until your wealth increases to the point of overflowing until the owner of wealth is anxious about who will accept his zakat, and when he does offer it to someone, that person will say, ‘I have no need of it’; until people compete in building tall buildings; until a man passes by a man’s grave and says, ‘Would that I were in his place’; and until the sun rises from the west. When people see it, then whoever is on the earth will believe. That is the time when ‘No faith which a soul professes will be of any use to it if it did not believe before.’ (6:158) The Final Hour will come while two men are spreading a garment between them but will not finish their transaction or fold it up. The Final Hour will come while a man is carrying the milk of his milk-camel, but will not be able to taste it. The Final Hour will come while someone is mending his water basin but will not be able to water from it. The Final Hour will come when someone is raising his food to his mouth but will not be able to taste it.

XXIV. Concerning the Dajjal

6705. Qays related, “Al-Mughira ibn Shu’ba said to me. ‘No one asked the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, about the Dajjal as I asked him. He asked me, ‘What concerns you about him?’ I answered, ‘It is because they say that he will have a mountain of bread and a river of water.’ The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘He is too lowly for Allah to grant him that.'”

6706. Ishaq ibn ‘Abdullah ibn Abi Talha related from Anas ibn Malik that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The Dajjal will come and camp near Madina and then Madina will shake three times and every unbeliever and hypocrite will leave it.”

6707. Ibrahim related from Abu Bakra that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The terror of the false Messiah (Dajjal) will not enter Madina. At that time it will have seven gates, with two angels at each gate.”

Salih ibn Ibrahim related that his father said, “I came to Basra and Abu Bakra told me that he heard the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say this.”

It is related from Abu Bakra that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “The terror of false Messiah (Dajjal) will not enter Madina. At that time it will have seven gates, with two angels at each gate.”

6708. Salim ibn ‘Abdullah related that ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar said, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, stood up among the people and praised Allah as He deserves. Then he mentioned the Dajjal and said, ‘I warn you of him. There is no Prophet but that he warned his people about him. But I say to you something which no Prophet has told his people. He is one-eyed and Allah is not one-eyed.'”

6709. Salim related from ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘While I was asleep, I dreamt that I was doing tawaf of the Ka’ba. There was a man with brownish skin and straight hair with water dripping or pouring from his head. I asked, ‘Who is this?’ ‘The son of Maryam,’ they replied. Then I turned and there was a corpulent reddish man with curly hair and blind in one eye which looked like a protruding grape. They said, ‘This is the Dajjal.’ The person who resembles him most is Ibn Qatan, a man of Khuza’a.'”

6710. ‘Urwa related that ‘A’isha said, “I heard the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, in his prayer seeking refuge from the trial of the Dajjal.”

6711. Rib’i related from Hudhayfa that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said about the Dajjal, “He will have fire and water. His fire is cold water and his water is fire.”

Abu Mas’ud said, “I heard that from the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace.”

6712. Qatada related from Anas that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ” There is no Prophet who has been sent but that he warned his people about the one-eyed liar. Your Lord is not one-eyed. Written between his eyes is ‘kafir‘.”

XXV. The Dajjal will not enter Madina

6713. It is related that Abu Sa’id said, “The Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said related a long hadith to us about the Dajjal and part of what he told us was, ‘The Dajjal will come and will be forbidden to enter the passes to Madina. He will alight at one of the salt marshes at Madina. On that day a man, who is the best of people – or one of the best of people – will come out to him and say, “I testify that you are the Dajjal about whom the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said related a hadith to us.” The Dajjal will say, “If I kill this man and then bring him to life will you still doubt my business?” He will say, “No.” He will kill him and then bring him life. When he brings him to life, he will say, “By Allah, now I am even more certain.” The Dajjal will say, “I would kill him, but I have no more power over him.”‘”

6714. Nu’aym ibn ‘Abdullah al-Mujmir related from Abu Hurayra that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said said, “There are angels at the passes to Madina and neither the plague nor the Dajjal will enter it.”

6715. Qatada related from Anas ibn Malik that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said said, “The Dajjal will come to Madina and find the angels guarding it, and so the Dajjal will not come near it.” He said. “Nor will the plague, Allah willing.'”

XXVI. Ya’juj and Ma’juj

6716. Zaynab bint Abi Salama related from Umm Habiba bint Abi Sufyan from Zaynab bint Jahsh that one day the Prophet,may Allah bless him and grant him peace, came to her in a state of alarm saying, “There is no god but Allah. Woe to the Arabs from an evil which is drawing near! An opening has been made in the wall of Ya’juj and Ma’juj like this,” and he made a circle with his thumb and forefinger. Zaynab bint Jahsh said, “I said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, will we be destroyed when the righteous are among us?’ He replied, ‘Yes, if there is a lot of wickedness.'”

6717. Abu Hurayra related that the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ” An opening has been made in the wall of Ya’juj and Ma’juj like this.” Wuhayb indicated ninety with his fingers.

Leave a Reply

