More Ahaadeeth About The Dajjaal

Book of the End: Great Trials and Tribulations

By Ibn Katheer

Some Narrations Concerning Ibn Sayyaad

Once, ‘Abdullah Ibn ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab and a small group went with the Messenger of Allah to Ibn Sayyaad; he found him to be playing with children beside the high structure of Banee Mughaalah. At the time, Ibn Sayyaad was at the age of puberty. He didn’t sense (their approach) until the Messenger of Allah struck his back with his hand. Then the Messenger of Allah said to Ibn Sayyaad, “Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah Ibn Sayyaad stared and then said, “I bear witness that you are indeed the Messenger of the illiterate ones. Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah The Messenger of Allah said, “I believe in Allah and His Messengers.”

The Messenger of Allah then said to him, “What do you see?” Ibn Sayyaad said, “A truthful one and a liar come to me.” The Messenger of Allah said, “The matter has become mixed up to you.” The Messenger of Allah then said to him, “Indeed, I have hidden a concealed matter for you.” Ibn Sayyaad said, “It is Rukkh. [And in the narration of Muslim, he said, “Dukkh.” The Prophet concealed from him the verse about one of the signs of the Hour, Dukkhaan, or smoke. Because Ibn Sayyaad was no different from a soothsayer in that he received his words from devils, all that the devils were able to tell him from the Verse was a piece of a word, “Dukkh.” Since soothsayers are known to speak in broken syllables (because that is what they receive from the devils), the Prophets knew his situation.] ” The Messenger of Allah said, “Sit you down in ignominy, for you will not go beyond your position (i.e., you will not go beyond the level of being a mere soothsayer).”

‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab said, “Order me, O Messenger of Allah, I will strike his neck.” The Messenger of Allah said, “If it is he (i.e. the Dajjaal), you will not be allowed to overcome him. And if it is not he, then there is no good in killing him.” Saalim ibn ‘Abdullah said that he heard ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar say, “Later on, the Messenger of Allah and Ubai Ibn Ka’ab went toward the date-trees among which Ibn Sayyaad was situated.

The Messenger of Allah entered the (cluster of) trees and he began to conceal himself at the root of a tree, trying to catch Ibn Sayyaad off guard so that he could hear something from him before Ibn Sayyaad would see him. The Messenger of Allah saw him to be lying down on a bed, wearing a coarse garment, from which a mumbling, incoherent speech could be heard. The mother of Ibn Sayyaad saw the Messenger of Allah as he was concealing himself behind the roots of trees. She said to Ibn Sayyaad, ‘O Saafee— it was the name of Ibn Sayyaad — this is Muhammad.’ And Ibn Sayyaad sprung up. The Messenger of Allah said, ‘had she left him as he was, he would have made matters clear (about himself and his situation).”‘ Saalim then related that ‘Abdullah Ibn ‘Umar said, “The Messenger of Allah then stood before the people he praised Allah with (praises) that are suitable to His (Greatness and Majesty). He a then mentioned the Dajjaal, saying, ‘Indeed I am warning you. There was no Prophet except that he warned his people (about Ad-Dajjaal). Verily, Noah it warned his people about him, but I will say to you something about him that no Prophet said to his people — know that he is one-eyed, and that indeed, Allah is not one-eyed.” (Muslim)

Ibn Shihaab related from ‘Umar ibn Ath-Thaabit Al-Ansaaree that some of the Prophet’s Companions informed him that, “One day, the Messenger of Allah warned the people about the Dajjaal, saying, ‘Indeed, Kaafir is written between his eyes. Everyone who hates his deeds will read it or every believer will read it.’ And he said, ‘Learn that not a single one from you will see his Lord until he dies.’ “

The Messenger of Allah’s Warning About The Dajjaal, And Some Of The Dajjaal’s Attributes

Ibn ‘Umar reported that the Messenger of Allah mentioned the Dajjaal before the people. He said, “Indeed Allah is not oneeyed, but the Maseeh Ad-Dajjaal is indeed one-eyed, from the right eye, which is like a floating grape.” (Bukhaaree) And Anas related that the Messenger of Allah said, “There is no Prophet that did not warn his nation about the one-eyed Liar. Lo! He is indeed oneeyed, and indeed, your Lord is not one-eyed. Written between the eyes (of the Liar (i e. the Dajjaal)) is Kaafir.” (Muslim) Bukhaaree related the same from the Hadeeth of Sho’bah.

Anas related that the Messenger of Allah said, “The Dajjaal has an eye that is effaced, and written between his eyes is Kaafir,” and the Prophet then spelled it — Kaaf, Faa, Raa, and “every Muslim will read it.” (Muslim)

Hudhaifah related that the Messenger of Allah said, “I know more about what the Dajjaal has with him than he himself knows. With him are two flowing rivers; in the vision of the eye, the first one is white water; in the vision of the eye, the second one is burning fire. If he (i.e. the Dajjaal) reaches one of you, then let him go to the one he sees as being fire and let him close his eyes. Then let him bend his head and drink, for it is indeed cold water. And the Dajjaal has an eye that is obliterated; over it is coarse skin (that covers the eye). Written between his eyes is ‘Kaafir,’ which every believer will read, regardless of whether he is literate or illiterate.” (Muslim) Ibn Mas’ood said, “And I heard it from the Messenger of Allah ” Bukhaaree related the same from Sho’bah.

The Fire Of The Dajjaal Is Paradise And His Paradise Is Fire

Abu Hurairah, related that the Messenger of Allah said, “Shall I not inform you of a Hadeeth about the Dajjaal that no other Prophet related to his people. Indeed he is one-eyed. And verily, with him will come that which is similar to Paradise and the Hellfire. The one that he says is Paradise is in fact the Fire. I warn you about him as Noah warned his people (about him).” (Bukhaaree and Muslim)

The Messengers Warned His Nation Not To Be Deceived By What The Dajjaal Has With Him In Terms Of Apparent Strength And Means Of Making Trials

Muslim ibn Al-Munkadir said, “I witnessed Jaabir ibn ‘Abdullah make an oath by Allah that Ibn Sayyaad is the Dajjaal. I said, ‘You swear by Allah ‘He said, ‘I indeed heard ‘Umar make an oath to that effect in the presence of the Prophet and the Prophet did not reproach him.”

And in a narration related by Naafai, Ibn ‘Umar met Ibn Sayyaad in one of the roads of Al-Madeenah. Ibn ‘Umar e said words that brought about his anger, and he became inflated until he filled the road. And in another narration, Ibn Sayyaad snorted the strongest snort of a donkey; Ibn ‘Umar a struck him until his stick broke. When Ibn ‘Umar entered upon his sister Hafsah, the Mother of the Believers, she said, “What did you want from Ibn Sayyaad.

Didn’t you know that the Messenger of Allah said, “Indeed he (i.e. the Dajjaal) will come out because of something he will be angry about?” (Muslim)

Ibn Sayyaad Is Not The Greater Dajjaal

Some scholars say that some of the Companions would think that Ibn Sayyaad was the Dajjaal, but he is not the Dajjaal; rather, he was just an insignificant man. On one occasion, Ibn Sayyaad accompanied Abu Sa’eed in a journey between Makkah and Al-Madeenaaah. He became weary with what the people were saying concerning him being the Dajjaal. He said to Abu Sa’eed “Did not the Messenger of say, ‘Verily, he will not enter Al-Madeenah.’ And it was there where I was born. (And did not the Messenger of Allah say) that a child will not be born to him, and a child was born to me. And verily, he (i.e. the Dajjaal) is a disbeliever, whereas I have indeed accepted Islam.” (Muslim) Despite this, Ibn Sayyaad said, “I am the most knowledgeable of people concerning him (the Dajjaal) and the most knowledge concerning his place. Were it to be offered to me to be him, I would not dislike that.” In another narration, Abu Sa’eed said, “Ibn Sayyaad was mentioned in the presence of the Prophet, and ‘Umar said, ‘He claims that he passes by nothing without it speaking to him— (Ahmad) The point, however, is that Ibn Sayyaad is, without a doubt, not the Dajjaal that comes out at the end of times. This is proven by the Hadeeth of Faatimah bint Qais Al- Faihriyyah for her Hadeeth is the clear judge in this matter. And Allah it knows best.

Faatimah Bint Qais’s Hadeeth About The Dajjaal; And What Tameem Ad-Daaree Related In Regards To Him Seeing Al-Jassaasah And Ad-Dajjaal

Hamdaan asked Faatimah bint Qais, sister of Ad-Dahhaak ibn Qais, and one of the earlier ones who migrated, “Relate to me a Hadeeth that you heard from the Messenger of Allah do not narrate it from anyone other than him.” She said, “I married Al-Mugheerah, who was in those days from the best of youth among the Quraish. In the beginning of Jihaad with the Messenger of Allah he was wounded. Then, when he died, ‘Abdur-Rahmaan ibn ‘Aouf as well as a small number of Companions of Muhammad proposed to me. And the Messenger of Allah proposed to me on behalf of his freed slave, Usaamah It had been related to me that the Messenger of Allah said, ‘Whoever loves me, then let him love Usaamah.’ So when the Messenger of Allah spoke to me, I said, ‘My matter is in your hand; marry me to whomsoever you please.

He said, ‘Move to (the house of) Umm Shareek,’ and Umm Shareek was a rich woman from the Ansaar who spent a great deal in the way of Allah many guests would stay with her. Then I said, ‘I will do so.’ He said, ‘Rather, no, do not do so. Verily, Umm Shareek is a woman who keeps many guests, and I dislike for your face cover to fall from you or for your garment to reveal your calves, so that the people will see some matters that you dislike (for them to see). Instead, go to your cousin, ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Amr ibn Umm Maktoom (who was blind) (he was a man from Banee Faihr, the Faihr of Quraish, from the same subdivision of the tribe that she was from).’

So I went to him, and when my period of waiting ended, I heard the caller of the Messenger of Allah call out, ‘The prayer is gathered.’ I went to the Masjid and prayed with the Messenger of Allah I was in the row of women that came after the backs of the people. When the Messenger of Allah finished his prayer, he stood on the pulpit, and he was laughing. He said, ‘Let each person remain in his place of prayer.’ He then said, ‘Do you know why I gathered you?’ They said, ‘Allah and His Messenger know best.’ He said, ‘Indeed, by Allah, I have not gathered you for Ar-Raghbah (i.e., encouraging you to do good) or for Ar-Rahbah (i.e., warning you about evil and its consequences); instead, (I gathered you) because Tameem Ad-Daaree was a Christian man, but then he came, pledged allegiance, and accepted Islam; and he related to me a Hadeeth that is in harmony with what I related to you in regard to Al-Maseeh Ad-Dajjaal.

He said that he rode in the sea on a sea vessel with thirty men from Lakhm and Judhaam. The waves played with them for a month, and they anchored at an island in the sea – where the sun sets. They sat at the lowest part of the vessel, which was situated by the shore, and they entered the island. They were met by something that was very hirsute – with thick and plentiful hair, with so much hair that they did not know its front from its back. They said, ‘Woe unto you; what are you?’ It said, ‘I am AI-Jasssaasah (a beast that spies out news for the Dajjaal).’

They said, ‘And what is AI-Jassaasah?’ It said, ‘O people, go this man in the castle, for he is most eager to learn of your news.’ Tameem said, ‘When she named to us a man, we became afraid from her, fearing that she was a female devil. We hurried until we entered the castle, and inside of it we saw the largest man — in terms of physique — that we had ever seen.

He was tied in chains with his hands gathered at his neck; between his knees and his heels (he was tied) in chains. We said: Woe to you! What are you? He said: You have been able (to know) of my news, so inform me — what you are? We said: We are a people from the Arabs. We rode on a sea vessel and we were at sea when it became tempestuous. The waves played with us for a month, and then we took shelter on this island of yours. We sat on the lower part of our vessel, which was on the side of the shore, and we entered the island. We met a beast with thick hair, and it was very much hirsute; so much hair did it have that we did not know its front from its back. We said to it: Woe unto you! What are you? It said: I am AI-Jassaasah.

Then it said: Betake yourselves to this man in the castle, for he is most eager to learn of your news. We came to you in a hurry. And we became free of her, for we did not feel safe as to her not being a female devil. The man asked: Inform me about the date-trees in Baisaan (a village in Sham, near to Jordon).’ We said: what is it concerning it that you are asking about? He said: I am asking you about its date-trees — are they giving fruit? We said: Yes. He said: The time draws near when they will not give fruit. He said: Inform me about Buhairah At-Tabariyyah. We said: what concerning it are you asking about?

He said: Is there water in it? They answered: It has much water. He said: Its water will soon go away. Then he said: Inform me about the spring of Zughar (an area in Sham). They said: what concerning it are you asking about? He said: Is there water in the spring? And are its people farming, using the water of the spring? We said: Yes, it contains much water, and its people are farming, using its water. He said: Inform me about the Prophet of the illiterate ones — what has he done? They said: He has left Makkah and has inhabited Yathrib (Madeenah).

He said Have the Arabs fought him? We said: Yes. He said: And what did he do with them? We then informed him that he was victorious over those Arabs that were near him and that they obeyed him. He asked: That indeed happened? We said: Yes. He said: It is indeed better for them to obey him; and I will inform you about myself: I am Al-Maseeh (Ad-Dajjaal). And the time is near when permission will be given to me to come out. I will come out and I will travel in the earth. Then, in a period of forty nights, I will not leave a village without descending in it — except for Makkah and Taibah (Madeenah), for they are both forbidden upon me.

Whenever I want to enter one of them, I am met by an angel, in whose hand is a sword unsheathed, and he will block me from entering it. And verily, upon every mountain pass from it are angels that guard it (i.e. Makkah and Madeenah).’ As he struck his rod on the pulpit, the Messenger of Allah said, ‘Teebah means Al Madeenah. Indeed, did I used to relate the same to you?’ The people said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘The Hadeeth of Tameem indeed amazed me, in that (what) he (said) was in keeping with what I related to you about him (the Dajjaal) and about Madeenah and Makkah. Lo! He is indeed in Ash-Sham or in the right sea; rather, no, he is in the direction of the East.’ And he pointed with his hand toward the East.'” She said, “I memorized this from the Messenger of Allah (Muslim)

The Hadeeth Of Faatimah Bint Qais

Imam Muslim related the same Hadeeth through different chains and with various wordings. At the end of one narration, the Prophet clarified it, saying, “This (i.e. Al-Madeenah Al-Munawarrah) is Taibah and that (the man spoken about in Tameem Ad-Daaree’s narration) is Ad-Dajjaal.” Abu Daawood, Ibn Maajah, An-Nasaaee, Imam Ahmad, and At-Tirmidhee — these compilers all related the same Hadeeth through different chains, and about one of those chains, At-Tirmidhee said, “Hasan Saheeh.”

In one narration, ‘Aamir said, “I approached Madeenah and then went to Faatimah Bint Qais, who told me that her husband divorced her during the lifetime of the Messenger of Allah Then the Messenger of Allah sent him on a mission; (and during that time) his brother said, ‘leave the house.”‘ Faatimah said, “I said to him, ‘I have the right of expenditure and housing until the fixed-period ends.’ He said, ‘No.’ I went to the Messenger of Allah and said, ‘Indeed, so-and-so divorced me, and his brother is forcing me to leave, preventing me from housing and expenses.’ He sent a message to him, ‘What is between you and Bint Aal-Qais?’ He said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, my brother indeed divorced (her) all three times.

The Messenger of Allah said, ‘Look, O daughter of Qais, expenses and housing are only for the woman whose husband can still take her back (i.e. before the third and final divorce). If he cannot take her back, then (she has the right to) neither expenses nor housing. Leave and live with such and such woman…(rather) live with Ibn Umm Maktoom, for he is indeed blind and will not see you. Then do not marry until I marry you off.”‘ Faatimah said, “Then a man from the Quraish proposed to me, and I went to the Messenger of Allah” seeking his command. He said, ‘Shall you not marry he who is more beloved to me than him?’ I said, ‘Yes, O Messenger of Allah; then marry me to whomsoever you love.”‘

Faatimah said, “He then married me to Usaamah ibn Zaid.”Aamir said, “When I wanted to leave, she said, ‘Sit, so that I will relate to you a Hadeeth from the Messenger of Allah She said, “One day, the Messenger of Allah went out and prayed the noon prayer. He then sat until the people finished (their prayer). He then said, ‘O people, sit, for indeed, I am not standing here because of some alarm; rather, because Tameem Ad-Daaree came to me and informed me of some news that made me so happy and pleased that I was not able to take the day nap. And I wished to spread to you the happiness of your Prophet. He informed me that a group of his cousins (and Mm) were traveling by sea; they were then overcome by tempestuous weather, and the wind forced them to an island that they did not know. They sat at the bottom of their ship, on the side that was near the shore, and they landed on the island. (When they arrived there) they came upon something that was very hirsute with coarse hair, and they did not know whether it was a man or a woman. They gave greetings of peace and he returned greetings of peace upon them. They said to him, ‘Shall you not inform us?’ He said, ‘I will not inform you (of anything) nor will I ask you to inform me.

However, in this castle that you have seen is one who eagerly wants to learn of your news – for Mm to inform you and ask of you to inform him.’ Tameem said, ‘We said: What are you?’ He said, ‘Al-Jassaasah.’ They went until they reached the castle. Before them was a man who was severely shackled; he evinced sadness and suffering (or complaining). They gave him greetings of peace and he returned them upon them. He said, ‘Who are you?’ They said, ‘We are people from the Arabs.’ He said, ‘What have the Arabs done – has their Prophet come out?’They said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘And what have they done?’ They said, ‘(They have done) well; they have faith in him, and they have believed him.’

He said, ‘That is better for them.’ They said, ‘They were his enemies, but Allah made him victorious over them.’ He inquired, ‘The Arabs today – their God is One, their Prophet is one, and their word is one (i.e. they are united)?’ They said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘And what has the spring of Zughar done?’ They said, ‘It is good; its people drink from it; it gives them drink and they give drink from it to their crops.’ He said, ‘And what have the date-trees done that are between ‘Ammaan and Baisaan?’ They said, ‘Healthy and they give their fruit every year.’ He said, ‘And what has the Tabariyyah lake done?’ They said, ‘It is full.’ He took a long breath and then swore, ‘When I leave this place, I will not leave any of Allah’s lands except that I will step on it, except for Teebah (Madeenah) and Makkah, for I have no power over them.”‘ The Messenger of Allah said, “The Dajjaal will not enter Teebah: this was the reason for my happiness. Indeed, Teebah is Al-Madeenah.

Verily, Allah has made it forbidden for the Dajjaal to enter it.” Then the Messenger of Allah made an oath, “By Allah — none has the right to be worshipped but He – it has neither narrow nor wide road and neither level land nor mountain except upon it is an Angel whose sword is unsheathed, (and will remain so) until the Day of Resurrection. The Dajjaal will not be able to enter it upon its inhabitants.” ‘Aamir said, “I met Al-Mihraz ibn Abee Hurairah and I narrated to him the Hadeeth of Faatimah bint Qais. He said, ‘I bear witness upon my father that he related to me the same as Faatimah related to you, except that he related that the Prophet said: he is in the Eastern sea!” ‘Aamir said, “Then I met Al-Qaasim ibn Muhammad and I mentioned to him the Hadeeth of Faatimah. He said, ‘I bear witness upon ‘Aaisha that she related to me the same as what Faatimah related to you except that she said: the two inviolable places are forbidden upon him — Makkah and Madeenah.”‘ (Ahmad)

And in yet another narration, Faatimah hint Qais related that, on one day, the Messenger of Allah delayed the last ‘Eesha; he then came out and said, “I was detained by a Hadeeth that Tameem Ad-Daaree was relating to me concerning a man on an island from the islands of the sea. (He said), ‘Then I came upon a woman who was dragging her hair. I said: what are you? It said: I am Al-Jassaasah; go to that castle. I went to it and came upon a man who was dragging his hair and who was shackled in chains; he was springing in them between the sky and the earth. I said: Who are you? He said: I am the Dajjaal. He (then) said: What have the Arabs done? Has their Prophet come out? I said: Yes. He asked: Did they obey him or disobey him? I said: Rather, they obeyed him. He said: That is better for them.”‘

In the narration of Abu Daawood, Jaabir s related that the Messenger of Allah said one day when he was on the pulpit, “As some people were traveling at sea, their food supply became depleted; then they came across an island, and they went to it, seeking bread. And the Jassaasah met them.” One of the narrators asked Abu Salamah, “And what is AI-Jassaasah?” He said, “A woman who drags her hair — the hair of her skin and of her head.” (Abu Daawood) In one narration, which is very Ghareeb, and which is related by Abu Daawood only, Jaabir s insisted that the man on the island was Ibn Sayyaad.

Abu Hurairah related that the Messenger of Allah stood level on the pulpit and said, “Tameem gave me an account,” and then he saw Tameem on one side of the Masjid and said, “O Tameem, relate to the people that which you related to me.” He said, “We were on an island, when we came across a beast, not knowing its front from its back. It said, ‘You are amazed at my shape, and in the castle is one who desires to speak to you.’ We entered the castle and we came upon a man who was shackled in steel, from his heels to his ears. One of his nostrils was blocked and one of his eyes was effaced. He said, ‘Who are you?’ We informed him, and he said, ‘What has lake Tabariyyah done?’ We said, ‘As it normally does.’ He said, ‘And what has the date-tree of Baisaan done?’ We said, ‘As it normally does.’ He said, ‘I shall set my foot on (every part of) earth except for the city of Ibraaheem (i.e. Makkah) and Teebah.” The Messenger of Allah’, said, “Teebah is Al-Madeenah.” (Related by Al-Haafiz Abu Ya’laa) This Hadeeth is very Ghareeb. Abu Haatim said, “It is not solid.”

Ibn Sayyaad Is From The Jews Of AI-Madeenah

Jaabir ibn ‘Abdullah 4 said, “Verily, a woman from the Jews of Al-Madeenah gave birth to a boy whose eye was effaced and whose canine tooth was (slanted) upwards. The Messenger of Allah feared that he was the Dajjaal, and he then found him underneath a coarse garment mumbling. His mother went toward him and said, ‘O ‘Abdullah, this is Abu Al-Qaasim who has come; emerge to him from your garment. The Messenger of Allah said, ‘What is with her? May Allah fight her; had she left him, he would have clarified (his situation)’ He then said, ‘O Ibn Sayyaad, what do you see?’

He said, ‘I see truth and I see falsehood and I see a throne on water.’ The Messenger of Allah said, ‘And this is not (what I asked you about).’ The Prophet then asked, ‘Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah He said, ‘Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah The Messenger of Allah said, ‘I believe in Allah and His Messengers.’ He then exited and left him. Later on, he went to him among date-trees that belonged to them. His mother went toward him and said, ‘O ‘Abdullah, this is Abu Al-Qaasim (i.e., the Prophet ) who has come.’ The Messenger of Allah said, ‘What is with her; may Allah fight her! Had she left him, he would have clarified (his situation).

The Messenger of Allah desired to hear some of his speech to learn whether he was him (i.e. the Dajjaal) or not. He said, ‘O Ibn Sayyaad, what do you see?’ He said, ‘I see truth and I see falsehood and I see a throne on water.’ The Prophet said, ‘Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah He said, ‘Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah The Messenger of Allah said, ‘I believe in Allah and His Messengers’ Then the matter became unclear to him, after which he exited and left him. The Messenger of Allah then came to him for a third and fourth time; with him were Abu Bakr ‘Umar Ibn Al-Khattaab and a small group from the Muhaajiroon and the Ansaar, and I was with him.

The Messenger of Allah hurried forth before us, hoping to hear something from his speech. But Abu Sayyaad’s mother preceded the Prophet to him. She said, ‘O ‘Abdullah, this is Abu Al-Qaasim who has come.’ The Messenger of Allah said, ‘What is with her; may Allah fight her! Had she left him, he would have clarified (his situation).’ He said, ‘O Ibn As-Sayyaad, what do you see?’ He said, ‘I see truth and I see falsehood and I see a throne on water. Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah The Messenger of Allah said, ‘I believe in Allah and His Messengers Ibn Sayyaad, I have concealed something from you (the Verse about Dukkhaan, the smoke, which is one of the signs of the Hour);

what is it?’ He said, ‘Dukkh.’ The Messenger of Allah, ‘Remain you low in ignominy! Remain you low in ignominy!”‘ ‘Umar ibn Al-Khattaab said, “Give me permission, and I will kill him, O Messenger of Allah.” The Messenger of Allah said, “If it is him, then you are not his companion (i.e. you will not be able to kill him), for indeed his companion (i.e. the one who will kill him) is ‘Eesa ibn Maryam. And if he is not him, then it is not for you to kill a man from the people of the ‘Ahd (i.e. those who have the right of safety and protection under the Muslims).” Jaabir said, “The Messenger of Allah continued to fear that he was the Dajjaal.” (Ahmad) And this wording is very much Ghareeb.

‘Abdullah ibn Mas’ood zbi said, “While we were with the Messenger of Allah young boys were playing and they passed by Among them was Ibn Sayyaad. The Messenger of Allah said, ‘Taribat Yadaak (literally, may dirt be stuck to your hands. Here, it is used as an expression of severe reproach and censure); do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah He said, ‘Do you bear witness that I am indeed the Messenger of Allah ‘Umar said, ‘Leave me to strike his neck.’ The Messenger of Allah said, ‘If he is the one who is feared, then you will not be able to do so.”‘ (Ahmad)

There are many Ahaadeeth that mention Ibn Sayyaad. Some of them do not clearly indicate whether he is the Dajjaal or not, and Allah knows best. Perhaps one senses hesitation about Ibn Sayyaad in some narrations because the situation and exact description of the Dajjaal had not yet been revealed to the Messenger of Allah We have already mentioned the Hadeeth of Tameem Ad-Daaree, a Hadeeth that is a clear judge in this issue. And we will relate other Ahaadeeth which prove that Ibn Sayyaad is not the Dajjaal –and Allah knows best and is Most Wise.

Saalim ibn ‘Abdullah ibn ‘Umar related that the Messenger of Allah said, “As I was standing (in Bukhaaree, sleeping, indicating this to be a dream), making circuits around the Ka’bah, there appeared a man, extremely brown in complexion, with hair that was straight and flowing, and with water that was dripping or flowing from his head. I said, ‘Who is this?’ It was said, ‘Ibn Maryam.’ Then I turned,and there appeared a huge man, red in complexion, with his head shaved – and he was one-eyed. The person who resembles him most is Ibn Qatun, a man from Khuzaa’ah.” (Bukhaaree)

Jaabir ibn ‘Abdullah related that the Messenger of Allah said, “The Dajjaal will come out at a time when the religion (of the people) will be weak and when knowledge (i.e. knowledge of the religion) will be turned away from. He will have forty days to journey through the earth; one day from that will be like a year; one day will be like a month; one day will be like a Jumu’ah (here meaning week); and the rest of his days will be like these days of yours. He will have a donkey to ride; its breadth between its two ears is forty arm-spans. He will say to the people, ‘I am your Lord.’ He is one-eyed and your Lord is not one-eyed. Between his (i.e. the Dajjaal’s) eyes is written Kafara, with letters, which every believer will read, regardless of whether he is literate or illiterate.

He will go to every (place of) water and every spring except for Al-Madeenah and Makkah, both of which Allah made forbidden upon him. And the angels are standing at the gates of both (cities). He will have with him a mountain of bread, and people will be in difficulty (in terms of food) except for those who follow him. He will have with him two rivers, and I am more knowledgeable regarding them than he is. One of those rivers he will say is Paradise, and the other he will say is Fire. As for whoever is made to enter the one he calls Paradise, it is in fact Fire. And as for whoever is made to enter the one he calls Fire, it is in fact Paradise. Sent with him are devils that talk to the people, and with him is a great Fitnah (trial). He orders the sky to give rain, and it rains, according to what the people see.

He kills a soul and then brings it back to life, according to what the people see. He will say to the people, ‘Does anyone other than the Lord do this?’ The Muslims will betake themselves to the Mountain of Dulckhaan in Sham (Syria and surrounding areas). He will go to them and besiege them. He will be severe in his besiegement and will make matters very difficult for them. Then ‘Eesa ibn Maryam will descend in the last part of the night just before Fajr. He will say, ‘O people, what has prevented you from going out to the wicked liar?’ They will say, ‘This man is from the jinn.’ They will go and find ‘Eesa ibn Maryam before them.

The prayer will be gathered, and it will be said to him, ‘O Roohullah, step forth (and lead the people in prayer).’ He will say, ‘Let your Imam go forth and lead you in prayer. After they pray the morning prayer, they will go out to him, and when the Liar will see him, he will melt and dissolve just as salt dissolves in water. He (‘Eesa ibn Maryam) will walk to him and kill him. Even the tree and rock will call out, ‘O Roohullah,’ this is a Jew. And he will kill all those who followed the Dajjaal, leaving no one from them to remain.” (Ahmad)

The Hadeeth Of An-Nawaas Ibn Sam’aan Al-Kilaabee

An-Nawaas Ibn Sam’aan related that, “One morning, the Messenger of Allah mentioned the Dajjaal lowered the Dajjaal in significance yet gave importance (in terms of the tribulations associated with him). From this, we thought that he was in the group that was among the date-trees. When we went to him, he knew that about us and said, ‘What is your affair?’ We said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, one morning you mentioned the Dajjaal, and you lowered him in significance and you gave importance (in terms of the tribulations associated with him). So we thought that he was in a group that (lives) among the date-trees.’

He said, ‘Other than the Dajjal do I fear more upon you. If he comes out while I am among you, I am his opponent on your behalf. If he comes out and I am not among you, then each person is his own defender. And Allah is my Khaleefah over each person who is a Muslim (i.e. Allah is their Guardian and Protector). Indeed he (i.e. the Dajjaal) is a young man with extremely curly hair; his eye floats, and I say he resembles ‘Abdul-‘Uzza ibn Qatun. Whoever from you reaches him, then read upon him the beginning of Suratul-Kahf (Chapter of the Cave).

He will emerge on a borderland between Sham and Iraq. He will spread corruption quickly on the right, and he will spread corruption quickly on the left. 0 slaves of Allah, be firm.’ We said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, and how long will he remain on earth.’ He said, ‘Forty days; one day (from those days) will be like a year; one day will be like a month; and one day will be like a Jumu’ah (i.e. a week). And the rest of his days will be like your days.’ We said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, regarding that day that is like a year — is it enough to perform the prayers of a single day?’ He said, ‘No, estimate for them (i.e. estimate the timing of prayer for normal days; then pray every few hours based on that estimation, so for every 24 hours, five prayers)’ We said, ‘O Messenger of Allah, how fast is he in (traveling through) the earth?’ He said, ‘Like rain behind which is wind.

He will go to a people, invite them, and they will believe in him and answer him (i.e., answer his call by following him). Then he will order the sky and it will give rain, and the (crops of the) earth will grow. Their livestock will return at the end of the day with higher humps than they ever had, producing more milk than they ever previously gave, and having more meat on them than they ever had before. Then he will go to a people and invite them; they will reject Ms speech, and he will leave them. They will enter into a drought, having nothing of their wealth in their hands.

The Dajjaal will pass by a barren land and say, ‘Bring out your treasures,’ and its treasures will follow him like groups of bees. Then he will call a man who is in his full youth, and he will strike him with a sword, and cut him into two pieces…Then he will call him (back) and he will come with a radiant face, laughing. While he will be in that state, Allah will send Al-Maseeh ibn Maryam, and he will descend at the white minaret, in Eastern Damascus. He will be in two garments (that are dyed in saffron or something similar), and his hands will be on the wings of two Angels. When he lowers his head, drops will fall from it. And when he raises it, pearls will flow down from it (i.e. sweat that is in appearance like pearls).

No Kaafir (disbeliever) finds the smell of his breath without dying, and his breath ends where Ms gaze ends. He will seek the Dajjaal out until the door of Lud (a city near Jerusalem) and kill him. Then ‘Eesa ibn Maryam will go to a people who were protected from the Dajjaal, and he will wipe over their faces, telling them their stations in Paradise. While he is upon that state, Allah will inspire to ‘Eesa that, ‘I indeed released slaves of mine, slaves that none has the ability to fight. So gather my slaves and take them to the Mountain.’

Allah (then) sends Yajooj and Majooj and they are coming from all directions. The first of them will pass by lake At-Tabariyyah, drinking from it; the last of them will pass by, saying, ‘once this had water in it.’ Allah’s Prophet, ‘Eesa, and Ms companions are besieged until the head of an ox for one of them is better than 100 dinars is for one of you today. Allah’s Prophet, ‘Eesa, and his companions will supplicate to Allah, and He will send to them (i.e. to Yajooj and Majooj) An-Naghaf (worms that are in the noses of camels and sheep) in their necks, and then they fall down dead like the death of a single soul. Then Allah’s Prophet, ‘Eesa, and his companions descend to the earth; there they will not find a place the size of a hand span except that it is filled with their awful smell and decay.

Allah’s Prophet, ‘Eesa, and his companions will supplicate to Allah, and He will send birds, who have necks like Bukht (camels with long necks). They will throw them (the decaying corpses) wherever Allah wills. Then Allah will send rain that neither house nor Wabar (literally, hair) will prevent. Allah will wash the earth, leaving it like a Zalafah (mirror, indicating that the entire earth will be washed clean). Then it will be said to the earth, ‘grow your fruits and bring back your blessings.’ At that time, a group will eat from a single pomegranate and find shade in its shell. And milk will be blessed, whereby a milk-giving camel will be enough for a large group of people; a milk-giving cow will be enough for a tribe of people; and a milk-giving sheep will be enough for a group of relatives. While they are upon that state, Allah will send a good wind, which will take them from underneath their armpits; it will take the soul of every believer and every Muslim.

The most evil of people will remain, and they will engage in sexual intercourse out in the open as donkeys do: upon them the Hour will come to pass.” (Muslim) Ibn Hajar said, “He inserted the Hadeeth of one of the two (narrators) into the Hadeeth of the other from ‘Abdur-Rahmaan ibn Yazeed ibn Jaabir; it is with the same chain and text, with the following addition after, ‘This once had water in it’: ‘They then journeyed until they ended at the Al-Khamar Mountain, and it is the mountain of Jerusalem. They will say: We have killed those on the earth, come and let us kill who is in the sky. They will shoot their arrows toward the sky, and Allah will return to them their arrows dyed in blood.”‘

And the following is in the narration of Ibn Hajar: “I have indeed sent down slaves of mine whom none will be able to fight.” (Related by Muslim, both the chain and the text, and he alone related it from Al-Bukhaaree) Imam Ahmad related it as well, but after the saying, “And Allah will throw them wherever He pleases,” is this addition: “And he will throw them in the Maihbal.” Ibn Hajar asked, “And where is the Maihbal?” He said, “The rising place of the sun.” Abu Daawood and At-Tirmidhee related it as well; At-Tirmidhee said about his narration, “Ghareeb Hasan Saheeh, we do not know it except through the Hadeeth of Ibn Jaabir.” An-Nasaaee related it in truncated form. Ibn Maajah also related it, but with the following addition: “The people will burn the bow, arrows, and shields of Yajooj and Majooj for a period of seven years.”

Umaamah Al-Baahilee said, “The Messenger of Allah delivered a sermon to us, most of which was speech about the Dajjaal, whom hee warned us about. From his sermon he said, ‘Since the time Allah created and spread the children of Adam (throughout the earth), there has never been a Fitnah that was as great as (will be) the Fitnah of the Dajjaal. Allah has not sent a Prophet except that he warned (his people) about the Dajjaal. I am the last of the Prophets, and you are the last of the nations — hence he will come out among you for sure. If he comes out while I am still in your midst, then I am the defender of every Muslim. If he comes out after me, then every person is his own defender. And Allah is my Khaleefah over every Muslim (i.e. their Guardian and Protector). He will indeed come out from the borderlands — between Sham and Iraq. He will quickly spread his corruption to the right and to the left. O slaves of Allah, O people, remain firm. I will describe a quality (of his) that no Prophet before me described him with. He will begin by saying, ‘I am a prophet,’ but there is no Prophet after me. Second, he will say, ‘I am your Lord,’ but you will not see your Lord until you die. He is oneeyed, and indeed, your Lord ‘Azza (to Him belongs Might and Majesty) is not one-eyed. Written between his eyes is Kaafir (disbeliever), which every believer will read, regardless of whether he is literate or illiterate. From his Fitnah, is that he will have a Paradise and Fire with him.

His Fire is in fact Paradise, and his Paradise is in fact Fire. Whoever is tested by his fire, then let him seek help from Allah and recite the beginning of Suratul-Kahf (Chapter of the Cave) — it will become cold and peaceful for him, just as the fire was for Ibraaheem. From his Fitnah is that he will say to a Bedouin, ‘Suppose that I raised your mother and father (from their graves), will you bear witness that I am your lord?’ The Bedouin will say, ‘Yes.’ Two devils will then appear before him in the shape of his father and mother, and they will say, ‘O my son, follow him, for he is indeed your Lord.’

From his Fitnah is that he will gain control over a soul and kill it by cutting it open with a saw and then spreading it into two strips. He will say, ‘Look at my slave, for I will indeed raise him now, and then (after I raise him) he will claim that he has a Lord other than me’ Then Allah will raise him and the Khabeeth (wicked-doer; i.e. the Dajjaal) will say, ‘Who is your Lord?’ He will say, ‘My Lord is Allah, and you are the enemy of Allah — the Dajjaal. By Allah, I never had a more clear perception of you (and your evil) than I do today.”‘ (Ibn Maajah) In another narration, Abu Sa’eed related that the Messenger of Allah said, “From my nation, that man has the highest station in Paradise.”

Abu Sa’eed, said, “Until he died, we did not think that that man could be anyone other than ‘Umar ibn Al-Khattaab” Al-Muhaaribee said, “Then we returned to the Hadeeth of Abu Raafai'”: “From his Fitnah is that he will order the sky to give rain, and it will rain; and he will order the earth to give forth its crops, and it will give forth its crops. From his Fitnah is that he will pass by an area, and they (the people there) will disbelieve in him. Then all of their livestock will perish. And from his Fitnah is that he will pass by an area, where they (the people there) will believe in him. Then he will order the sky to give rain, and it will rain; he will order the earth to bring forth vegetation and it will give forth vegetation.

Their livestock will return at the end of that day fatter and larger than ever before, with more meat than ever before, and with more milk than ever before. He will stamp his foot on every part of the earth, appearing there (in every place), except for Makkah and Al-Madeenah. Whichever one of their mountain-passes he goes to, an angel with an unsheathed sword will meet him. Then he will go beside a small red mountain where the salty part of the land ends.

Next, Al-Madeenah will have three tremors, and all male and female hypocrites will go out to him; thus it will be purified of filth just as the bellows are purified from the filth of steel. That day is called the Day of Deliverance.” Umm Shareek, the daughter of Abu Al-‘Askar said, “O Messenger of Allah, where will the Arabs be during those days?” He said, “They will be few, and most of them will be in Jerusalem. Their Imam will be a righteous man. As their Imam will go forward and lead the people in prayer, ‘Eesa ibn Maryam will descend. That Imam will walk backwards so that ‘Eesa can move to the front and lead the Prayer. ‘Eesa will place his hand between his shoulders and say to him, ‘Move forward and pray, for it was indeed established for you (i.e. for you to be the Imam). Their Imam will lead them in prayer, and when he will finish, ‘Eesa will say, ‘Erect the gate.’

It will be opened, and behind it will be the Dajjaal and with him 70,000 Jews, each one of them having a sword adorned with a cover. When the Dajjaal will look at him, he will dissolve, just like salt dissolves in water. He will leave, trying to flee, and ‘Eesa will say, ‘Indeed one blow to deliver to you, which you will not escape from.’ ‘Eesa will catch up to him at the Eastern door, where he will kill him. Allah will make the (remaining) Jews become defeated. A Jew will not hide behind anything Allah created, except that Allah will make that thing talk – whether it is a rock, a tree, a wall, a beast – except for the Gharqadah, for it is from their trees. (Everything else) will talk and only say, ‘O ‘Abdullah, O Muslim, this is a Jew, so come and kill him.”

The Messenger of Allah said, “His (i.e. ‘Eesa’s) days are for forty years. One year (from those years) is like half a year; one year is like a month; and one month is like a Jumu’ah (i.e. a week). And the last of his days are short. In the morning, one of you will be at the gate of Al-Madeenah, and he will not reach its other gate until the night.” It was said to him, “O Messenger of Allah, how should we pray in those short days?” He said, “Estimate prayer in them (i.e. estimate the intervals between one prayer and the next for normal days, and then pray) as you do in these long days; then pray.”

The Messenger of Allah said, “‘Eesa ibn Maryam will be a fair judge and a just Imam in my nation; he will crush the cross and kill the pig. He will remove the Jizyah and leave the Sadaqah (charity; this is because wealth will be abundant at that time); and so goats and camels will not be sought after (by a charity-tax collector). Also, mutual hatred and rancor will be lifted (from the people). Poison will be removed from all that have poison in them, so that a baby will place his hand in the mouth of a snake, but it will not harm him.

A child will drive away a lion, but it will not harm him, and a wolf will be among sheep as if it is their dog. The earth will be filled with peace just as a container is filled with water. And the word will be one (i.e. there will be unity): none shall be worshipped but Allah.

Wars will be over with and the Quraish will take their rule (i.e. from those disbelievers who took it from them), and the earth will be like an ‘Aathoor (washbasin) of silver; its crops will grow as they did during the era of Adam. A group will gather over a bunch of grapes, and it will fill them, and a group will gather over a single pomegranate, and it will fill them. An ox will be worth such and such amount (i.e. a considerable amount), and a horse will be for a few dirhams.” It was said, “O Messenger of Allah, what will make horses so cheap?” He said, “They will never thereafter be mounted for war.” It was said, “And what will make an ox expensive?” He said, “To plow the entire earth.

But before the Dajjaal comes out, there will be three extremely difficult years, wherein people will be afflicted with severe hunger. (In the first year) Allah will order the sky to hold back one-third of its rain, and He will order the earth to hold back one-third of its crops. Then in the second year, He will order the sky to hold back two-thirds of its rain, and He will order the earth to hold back two-thirds of its crops. And in the third year, He will order the sky to hold back all of its rain — so it will not even rain a single drop — and He will order the earth to hold back all of its crops, so it will not grow any vegetables. Also, every possessor of Dhulf (a name for the feet ofcamels, goats, and sheep) will perish, except for what Allah wills.” It was said, “What will keep people alive in that period?”

The Prophet said, “At-Tahleel (to say: Laailaha illallaah — none has the right to be worshipped but Allah), At-Tasbeeh (to say: Subhaanallah — How perfect Allah is!), and At-Tahmeed (to say: Alhamdulillah — all praise is for Allah); that will flow upon them (or through them) like the flow of food.” (Thn Maajah)

Sayings Ascribed To The Messenger Of Allah About Strange And Wonderful Matters

About the previous Hadeeth, ‘Abdur-Rahmaan Al-Muhaaribee said, “This Hadeeth must be given to the instructor, so that he teaches it to children…” Abu Umaamah related that the Messenger of Allah said, “A group from my nation will remain victorious over their enemies and they will be strong. Those who oppose them will not harm them, nor will what befalls them from distress harm them, until Allah’s matter comes to pass (i.e., just before the Hour, when the soul of every believer will be taken), while they are upon that state.” The Companions asked, “O Messenger of Allah, and where are they?” He said, “In Jerusalem and in areas surrounding Jerusalem.”

Abu Sa’eed Al-Khudree ,to related that the Messenger of Allah said, “One day, the Messenger of Allah spoke to us at length about the Dajjaal. Among the matters he mentioned is the following: ‘He will come and it will be forbidden upon him to enter the mountain-passes of Al-Madeenah. So he will end up on barren, salty land that is next to Al-Madeenah. At that time a man who is the best of people — or from the best of people — will come out and say to him, ‘I bear witness that you are indeed the Dajjaal, whom the Messenger of Allah spoke to us about.’ The Dajjaal will say, ‘Suppose I kill this (man) and then bring him back to life. Will you then doubt about the matter.’ The people present will say, ‘No.’ He will kill him and then revive him, and upon being revived the (righteous) man will say, ‘By Allah, I have never understood you (and your situation) more clearly than I do now.’ The Dajjaal will then want to kill him, but he will not be given power over him.” (Muslim) Abu Ishaaq said, “It is said that that man is Khidr.”

Abu Sareed Al-Khudree s related that the Messenger of Allah said, “When the Dajjaal will come out, a man from the believers will set out to meet him. He will be met (on the way) by armed men — armed men of the Dajjaal. They will say to him, ‘Where do you intend to go?’ He will say, ‘I intend to go this one who has come out.’ They will say to him, ‘Do you not believe in our lord?’ He will say, ‘Our Lord does not have Khafaa (literally, concealment; perhaps referring to the Dajjaal being one-eyed).’ They will say, ‘Kill him.’

But some of them will say to the others, ‘Did not your lord forbid you to kill anyone outside of his presence?’ So they will go to the Dajjaal, and when the believer sees him, he will say, ‘O people, this is the Dajjaal that the Messenger of Allah mentioned.’ The Dajjaal will make an order and he will be dealt a blow to the head; then the Dajjaal will say, ‘Take him and strike him in the head.’ He will be given many severe blows to the back and the stomach, after which the Dajjaal will say to him, ‘Do you not believe in me?’ He will say, ‘You are indeed Al-Maseeh, the Liar” Then an order will be made, and the man will be cut with a saw, from the parting of his hair until he is cut asunder between the legs.

Then the Dajjaal will walk between the two halves, after which he will say, ‘Stand,’ and the man will stand up straight. The Dajjaal will say to him, ‘Do you believe in me?’ He will say, ‘I have gained only a clearer perception of you (i.e. that you are indeed the Dajjaal). O people, he will not do to anyone after me the same as he did with me.’ The Dajjaal will take him to slaughter him, but hr will be prevented by a barrier of copper that will be between his (i.e., the man’s) neck and his collarbone, and so the Dajjaal will have no way to get at him. So the Dajjaal will take him by his hands and legs and cast him away. The people will think that he threw him into the Fire, but in fact, he will have been thrown into Paradise.” The Messenger of Allah said, “With the Lord of all that exists, this is the highest martyr among people.”

Leave a Reply

